Home General Discussion

Muscular anatomy

I am primarily an environment artist however I am always interested in developing my character modeling side, what is the general view on using images of bodybuilders from magazines like muscle and fitness for reference when modeling superhero type characters which obviously have exaggerated proportions and physiques?

Ironically today's pro body builders are considered 'freaky' compared to the relatively lithe physiques of arnie and even lou ferrigno in the late 60's early 70's, today's body builders often have huge bloated stomachs and in my opinion are way over developed, raw size and vascularity has overtaken proportion and symmetry to a certain extent but thats the way things have evolved there, so do any of you use this type of muscular reference or do you stick to tradional andrew loomis type proportions for a base mesh and expand from there?

Replies

• Rens
    i have never done any superhero characters, but the refs are quite usefull to some point.

bodybuilders have such a useless muscle volume, they get slow and mostly cant even put there arms straight down. because of this loss in flexebility i think super hero characters are more based on a mix of things.

the muscles of a bodybuilder are ment to do short bursts, lift a huge amount of weight, for only a couple times or for a short time
    the muscles of a hero are more build for overall strength and endurence,

you can go for less volume, but alot of "drawing"
    take a look at top sporters and compare those to body builders,
  • Jeremy Wright
    Offline / Send Message
    Jeremy Wright polycounter lvl 17
    Well, If you want to model superheroes, you could just use comic book superhero drawings as reference.