Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Destroyed City Environment WIP

Hey everyone, I've been following the forum for awhile, but never posted until now. I'm currently a student finishing up soon and hopefully finding a job as an environment artist.

This piece only contains diffuse textures at the moment an I need some feedback. All assets were intended for the unreal engine and the entire set is comprised of 14 2048 diffuse textures.

Any and all feedback is encouraged!

Thanks in advance!

building04.jpg
building01.jpg
building02.jpgbuilding03.jpg
building04.jpg

Replies

• frubes
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    welcome to the boards, not a bad start you have there. Initially i read, "the set is made up of 1 2048 texture" and i was like, thats kinda cool, but actually it says 14! Thats quite a lot for such a small scene as it currently stands, is there any chance of maybe breaking down where you have spent your texture budget? I can only assume a lot of it has gone on the buildings in background.

Do you plan on branching out from the 2 buildings and small section of pavement that you currently have in your scene? Currently it doesn't sit so well plonked on its own in the middle of all those other buildings and looks a bit out of place.

Ill be interested to see where you take it :)

Good luck.
  • -ST-
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the comments! The buildings in the background are not mine. Looking through the assets provided with Unreal 3 Editor, it seemed as though the general standard was 1 2048 per piece. So that's what I was going for.
  • -ST-
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Here's an example to show you how my texture distribution is working.
    Here I have 1 2048 dedicated to the corner doorway and the base level wall. Also the traffic light is 1 2048, telephone pole is 1 2048, window piece, etc.

baselevel.jpg
  • -ST-
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Surrounding area is still being worked on as well.