Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Portfolio] se7ered, Environment Artist

I'm new to Polycount. Take a look and let me know what you think.

http://monstersplaynice.com

Replies

• whats_true
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    whats_true polycounter lvl 15
    How did that rail way car get tangled up in the tree? Seems VERY much out of place without any other evidence to support it being their.

I think you need to work more on the story telling of your environment pieces. They seem empty with little indication that life has been their.

Also, looking at your textures, they are very wasteful. To much empty space and to much unique UV's that could have been symmetry.

Your lighting needs a LOT of work too. No contrast, no focal point in the scene. Like the ambient light is turned up wayyy to much and is just brightening everything up.
  • se7ered
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    whats_true wrote: »
    How did that rail way car get tangled up in the tree? Seems VERY much out of place without any other evidence to support it being their.

I've been told this before. An anachronism is something that is out of place chronologically. It is out of place. In time and physically. Perhaps it could benefit the work if I put the definition of anachronism on the page?
    I think you need to work more on the story telling of your environment pieces. They seem empty with little indication that life has been their.

Again on the Anachronism this is kind of the point. Though i did want to add other assets to the train to make it more interesting...luggage, signs, fire extinguishers. And the Mantis scene meant to be empty most of the time. The idea is that when it needs to be used, pilots can come in through the portal and man the ships. This scene should also have more assets though I agree. More to show that the portal is used for this. Perhaps a description could help this one as well.