Home Technical Talk

'Floating' Geometry on a low-poly?

Andreas
polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Andreas polycounter lvl 11
Is floating geometry acceptable on low-poly models these days? I've heard it does happen in games these days, the only problem might be with how the engine does the lighting; I heard that can produce weird artifacts?

By floating geometry I mean if you stick join two meshes together, but instead of cutting one into the other, you just push them till they overlap. Like pushing a trigger mesh into the main mesh of a gun, without cutting the trigger into the body of the gun.

Also, if the model is for portfolio purposes, is it generally acceptable to use this method?

Replies

• SnowGhost
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SnowGhost polycounter lvl 11
    Floating geometry certainly make UV mapping a more complicated, but as to your question I would like to know as well. I do it but I'm no pro and amateur at best in uvmapping and texturing.
  • gamedev
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    gamedev polycounter lvl 12
    Yup, it's widely used in games now days. The only exceptions I'm aware of are w/ engines that use shadow volumes (Doom 3 is one example I believe). Unreal Engine 3 however, supports floating geo just fine. If the object is to be vertex lit as well, consider placing verts appropriately where floating geo and surfaces intersect.
  • Andreas
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Andreas polycounter lvl 11
    Acceptable for portfolio pieces though?
  • Ghostscape
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ghostscape polycounter lvl 13
    intersecting meshes are fine. This isn't the same as floating geometry, which is usually used to refer to small pieces sitting on top of a high-poly surface.

It causes weird artifacts primarily with vertex lighting...which few games do nowadays. And it isn't always an issue with vertex lighting, either.
  • Farfarer
    Options
    Offline / Send Message