Home Technical Talk

How The F*#% Do I Model This? - Reply for help with specific shapes - (Post attempt before asking)

Replies

• EarthQuake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hello, everyone,

I hope this is the right place to post this. Here goes...

I am new to video game modeling (and to this forum altogether...) and I`ve been trying to bake a normal map to a lowpoly surfboard I made. I used XNormal`s cage baking to do this. My question is regarding these artifacts in the planar surfaces of the board, like so...

Cheers

Bit depth issue: http://www.polycount.com/forum/showthread.php?t=135613
  • PedroJhiann
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PedroJhiann polycounter lvl 10
    Thanks, Commador,

Glad to know this is a known issue! Do you know where to change the bit depth in XNormal? I did the same baking in Modo and got the same result. I know I am using a 32-bit targa for the file so I guess this shouldn't be an issue, though. I will look for EQ's post on this as well.

Again, Thanks!
  • PedroJhiann
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
  • PedroJhiann
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    It worked, obviously! I have to tweak a few other issues but this time it's with the high-to-low baking itself, I'll show you guys when it's done.

In the meantime, here is the rider of said board...

frame0001.jpg
  • lordsme
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    lordsme polycounter lvl 8
    lordsme wrote: »
    Hi guys,
    how would you model the highlighted part of this grenade, for a hi-poly hard surface model with smooth-mesh-preview/ turbo-smooth/sub-d? (concept by Atomhawk)
    I mean, in order to get those nice insets (not in line with the cylinder "native" loops!), would you start with a poly cylinder with enough geom + extrusions or with a poly plane + edge extrusion + bend?
    I'm using Maya and I think I'd rather use the second technique: model the surface extruding plane edges, smooth if necessary and then bend it