Home Technical Talk

maya realtime lighting problem

hey all,

I'm having few problems with maya's realtime (viewport) lighting. I wanna use realtime lights rather than render to better display how my asset would be lit in a game. this is my first time lighting so please bear with the noob questions:

1. intersecting geo doesn't block light. the porch overhang isn't blocking light even though only the 3 front porch lights are on (selected).

prob1nj3.jpg

2. shadows aren't casting. this is probably just a matter of ticking a box somewhere but I can't find it!

prob2zv2.jpg

3. all my lights won't work at the same time. they each work individually when I select them and I have 'use selected lights' on, but when I select 'use all lights' only a few of them work.

prob3aih6.jpg
prob3buh1.jpg

4. high quality rendering turns the scene black.

[insert black image here]

the asset (the house) is sitting on a flat plane under a giant dome. all my lights are point lights with an intensity of 4.0-6.0 and a linear decay rate. not sure if that's the right kind and/or settings to use but that's what gave me the best results so far. I also have a directional light casting blue moon lighting over the entire scene but it only works when selected ><

Replies

• Vailias
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Vailias polycounter lvl 18
    In my experience you are somewhat out of luck with what you want from maya, at least with default materials and the basic renderer.
    High quality usually just fails like that on consumer ATI cards, and only sorta works on Nvidia consumer cards.

Realtime shadowing... I don't think I've ever gotten that working in maya. And geometry just plain DOESNT block light in the viewport, and only does in renders if you turn shadowing on. Raytrace is better, but depth map is quicker.

What you CAN do is bake your lighting to a texture or vertices then add that lightmap on to the egeometry in a variety of ways.