Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

My 1st Sculpt - Cowboy

polycounter lvl 17
Offline / Send Message
[MILES] polycounter lvl 17
I suppose I've been dragging my feet with regard to using normal maps for models. In fact, I'm still relatively new to modeling itself and now is probably as good a time as any to learn the new stuff. I'll be stepping through my process as I go in this thread. I welcome any suggestions you might have, so let me know what you think. Thanks!

I decided to use a doodle from a few years ago as the basis for my model:

Char.jpg

Base mesh constructed in Maya:

Cowboy_Update01.jpg

First attempt at sculpting in ZBrush:

ZCowboy_Update08.jpg

(more to come...)

Replies

• low odor
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    low odor polycounter lvl 17
    awesome stuff man...only crit would be that maybe the had could be a tad bit bigger...to seperate it more from the forearm
  • Ruz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ruz polycount lvl 666
    great stuff and for a first zbrush sculpt - can't wait to see more
    you seem to have approached the whole thing very logically
  • EarthQuake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ah cool i was wondering when you would post this man! Its looking great so far, esp for your first official go with zbrush. Do you plan on working out a lowpoly and then doing a texture for him now?
  • [MILES]
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the feedback guys!

To answer your question, EQ, I do intend to see this through to completion. I suppose my next step is to get a working low poly version. Would the low poly version need to be different than the base mesh I created in Maya? Or would that do? Also, now that I'm going to be out of ZBrush, can (or should) I use triangles now to bring down the polycount of the low poly version?