Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: Kawe

Kawe
polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Kawe polycounter lvl 8
Well, I decided to brush up on my painting skills a little.. since they were non-existant. Been looking at a lot of tutorials and well... these are my first paintings ever.

First one I did without much thinking and no reference

oasen.jpg

Second one I got inspired by some guy's painting.. I forgot who though. Used it as reference for color scheme.. or well. I wouldn't call it a reference since I didn't actually look at it when I started painting.

desert.jpg

Here's something I threw together just now. I used an image I found on google as reference. You can find it if you google aztec pillar or something. Everything was done with painting.. using various brushes I found on the Internet.

stone.jpg

Both latest ones I did by painting a value painting. I only have the value painting for the one above though.

stonevalue.jpg

Critique and comments are welcome :) The images are kind of empty cause well.. my imagination apparently doesn't extend past well.. cubes. haha.

Replies

• dark_lotus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Could I be the first to lend some critique here? :)

The main thing is that everything is central (besides the sun in the first...) and my eye does not really want to move across the painting as there is nothing that attracts it. That makes them feel static, almost non-believable. The grass on the last painting for example - it is just grass. Uniform, blurred over the stone and quite boring. The same with the sky.

Take a look at some other artworks that inspire you and take note of the different strokes they use, the way they blend their colour and what really excites you about it :)

But keep going! Practice makes perfect 8)
  • Kawe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kawe polycounter lvl 8
    Thanks for the critique and you are completely right. Hopefully I'll be able to keep it in mind for my next piece :)
  • Kawe