Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Game model: Citro

Hello all!

This is my first post here at this forum. I have been lurking around for a while and I have been admiring the many great low poly models being shown.

But now I feel I'm ready to show some of my own stuff. I am a noob modeler (hobbyist) and I use Lightwave 3D and Photoshop.

The model I am making is my first complex gamemodel and is a model of the Citro

Replies

• Baddcog
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Baddcog polycounter lvl 9
    Welcome.

I think it looks pretty good so far. I've been thinking about doing an older car like that myself, alot more style than most new cars imo.

I think it needs a back bumper. smile.gif

Other than that no real crits, texturing is a major point

Looks like there might be a few places that could be optimized and not be noticeable. New games can handle tons of polys but wasting them is useless.
    Like the back window, the corners are such a tight radius I wonder if they'd even be noticed in game. Might work as a square, or maybe just one poly for the corner, maybe alpha channel would be best and the window wouldn't have to even be cut out.

I'm curious to know which game you are making it for, if you are using 5k polys for a certain reason. Are most of the cars in that game 5k? Or is it a random number?

Are you working from a source, would be cool to see it also.
  • fmnoor
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    fmnoor polycounter lvl 17
    That top looks a bit messy, you might want to clean it up a little bit. You may also want to cut down the roundness on the headlights - and in the front part in general... but the overall shape looks good to me.
  • Soccerman18
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Soccerman18 polycounter lvl 18