Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio Crits Needed(Enviro Art)

Em.
polycounter lvl 17
Offline / Send Message
Em. polycounter lvl 17
Hello all, I have been lurking around here for a long, long time. I'm an environment artist and I'm looking for a new job after losing my last one to outsourcing. I haven't posted my portfolio here for crits yet, so I thought I would take the plunge and see what the experts thought I could do to improve it. Any crits would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Here's the link to my Portfolio.

Replies

• Por@szek
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Por@szek polycounter lvl 18
    I'm not an expert, but I like ur stuff.
    Personaly i think that ur works loosing a lot when u show them in so low res. Without antialias and with bigger res it will works better IMO.
    Nice props works u have done.
  • Em.
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Em. polycounter lvl 17
    Thanks for the response [email="Por@szek..."]Por@szek...[/email]
    I've been thinking about reformatting my webpage to show larger images or an option to click to view larger, I think I'll go ahead and do that.
  • ScoobyDoofus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ScoobyDoofus polycounter lvl 19
    ogleme: Kudos for taking the plunge and showing your artwork here for critique. Allow me to apologize in advance if any of my statments here are regarded as harsh or inaccurate.

Your stuff looks ok, but I would have to honestly say that while you demonstrate some skill, and certainly have some talent, you're just not quite there yet IMO for the majority of games development. I see a lot of wasted polys, poor usage of texture space and obvious mirroring & repetition artifacting in your textures.

Take a look at the portfolios of many of the members of this & other forums. Make no mistake, these people are your competition. Your work needs to meet or surpass that standard.