Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Demo Reel Piece - 1930's Street Scene (WIP)

Vdo
Vdo
polycounter lvl 17
Offline / Send Message
Vdo polycounter lvl 17
Hey All

I'm currently in my last semester at the Arts Institute of Burnaby. This piece is created for my demo reel, as you can see its near completion. Alot of the texture needs to be touch up especially the cement texture,any critique on it would be very helpful. Thanks.

[img]http:////i51.photobucket.com/albums/f377/astrofusion/untextured.jpg[/img]
streetwide.jpg
streetside.jpg
front.jpg
apartmentside.jpg

Replies

• Gmanx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Gmanx polycounter lvl 19
    The textures don't seem to 'sit' with the geometry very well. There should be vertical streaks of grime under those window sills, and around the bottom of the building's walls, where they meet the floor. All the stores have the same style 'Deal' posters in? Could you try a high res 'floor' map, and add dirt, cracked flags, different floor treatments to that, or are you on a set limit?
  • Steakhouse
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Steakhouse polycounter lvl 18
    I'd suggest a new, alpha'd texture created for any of those larger signs you have, like the 'general store' one. Seperating it from the actual background texture will allow it to read better at a higher resolution without having to increase the resolution of the entire wall.

Those fruit stands could also use a kick board along the bottom to help break up it's flatness.
  • Daz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Daz polycounter lvl 18
    Cool. Scale of certain things seem out. Is it me, or is the height of that curb there about equal to that of a small child? Framework of stuff seems too thick. Doorframes etc. The barrels aren't really barrel shaped. They need that bulge in the middle. I'd take a closer look at some ref. Keep at it.
  • Jeff Parrott
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jeff Parrott polycounter lvl 19