Home General Discussion

Are there so few game jobs atm?

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
JO420 polycounter lvl 18
Hi,just wondering if the field for game artists is really so limited atm?

i keep applying at various places and the jobs i do qualify for i dont seem to get any responses, mostly what i see is job titles for "Senior Artist", ive been really trying to make it into gaming for quite awhile but such lack of any positive news is really becoming frustrating.

Ive tried all the options advised to me networking,game recruiters sending out resumes and demos reels.

But none of it seems to work.

i really want to know if the market is really so saturated with that many people or is my work not of any decent quality to get hired anywhere.

ive been fighting this battle since 1999 and i get closer to giving up totally every passing year.

i dont know what else to do to get a reponse let alone interest in a company.

this is some of my recent work

http://boards.polycount.net/showflat.php?Cat=0&Number=15736&an=0&page=1#15736

http://www.threedy.com/site/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=26644

Replies

• adam
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    adam polycounter lvl 19
    Hmm, sorry about your luck man. You defintely have talent when it comes to what we do. My suggestion is making contacts with people who work for some companies you may be interested in. They'd be able to tell you more or less when a good time is to apply, things like that.

Good luck to you and be persistant!
  • JO420
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JO420 polycounter lvl 18
    i also wonder if living in a town with almost no game studios hurts me as well,i live in houston texas which is very close to austin but i can seem to find any openings there and the few i do i apply and never hear anything.

ive met people from mary margeret.com and one of their reps said she would help me find work,i sent her all my info and never heard a thing.
  • Foehammer
    Options