Home Career & Education

I think I'm burnt out along with other things...

selectstart
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
selectstart polycounter lvl 3
Hello! To start, a bit about me! I'm currently 42 and started working in games about 7 years ago when I was 35. I had been dabbling in 3D for about 10 years before that always wanting to work in games, but the city I live in had little to no game studios. So my options were to either move or work other 3D type jobs not related to gaming. I never moved and stuck it out, convincing myself I was happy working in non-gaming 3D related fields. At 35, I landed a job in my city working in games with a brand new indie studio that opened. It was incredible. I was the happiest I had ever been in any career at the "old" age of 35. Over the next few years that studio would close and I would transition to working remote jobs (thanks to Covid) at other game studios. I've had some great experiences and have met some friends I know I will retain relationships with for a very long time.