Home Technical Talk

Opinions on using rectangular UVs for games

I'm making hard-surface models in blender I'll be using for a game made with Godot. I often make models with blender's mirror modifier, which automatically stacks your UVs. That looks great until I've finished the normal bake and want to texture edgewear, which does not look good with symmetry.  To make this simple for these kinds of models, I was thinking of doing the UVs before I apply the modifier, and after it has been applied the other half of the UVs can be moved exactly one tile up on the V axis, making a rectangular UV for textures like 1024x2048 and so on. 

Would this be a good way to approach it? Alternatively I was also considering putting the edgewear on a second UV that's 1:1 but using a lower resolution texture, with the normal being higher res. But I think this might be less convenient.

Should also note that I'm a solo dev making a PC game, I don't mind sacrificing some performance for a faster and less destructive workflow.

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    Rectangular is totally fine.

IIRC there are some specific compressed formats that only support square pow2 sizes, but that's a very tiny percentage. 

Using lower-res supporting textures is a good idea. Often the RMA (rough/metal/ambient-occlusion) texture can be lower-resolution than the diffuse or normal. Masks are similar.
  • OblongUV
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Rectangular is totally fine.

IIRC there are some specific compressed formats that only support square pow2 sizes, but that's a very tiny percentage. 

Using lower-res supporting textures is a good idea. Often the RMA (rough/metal/ambient-occlusion) texture can be lower-resolution than the diffuse or normal. Masks are similar.