Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] UE5 Short Sci-Fi Horror Film

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
Temppe polycounter lvl 12
Hi guys.

Very quick intro:
I've been doing 3d as a hobby in some form or another for twenty years. Nine years ago I wrote a screenplay for a short horror film. I tried to produce it six years ago but realised within a week that I didn't have the skills at the time. Two years ago I did a masters in games art and last May I finally got my first job in the industry (hard surface art for games). I realised during my masters that the time might be right to give this film another shot. My technical knowledge and my artistic eye are both far more developed now, plus the tools have evolved so much (I think the release of UE5 was the turning point). I started production six months ago, doing a few hours in the evenings when I can.

I'm using UE5 for rendering, 3ds Max, Fusion 360 and Zbrush for modeling and sculpting, Substance Painter for texturing plus a bit of Photoshop here and there. During the last trimester of my masters I made some of the characters for an assignment, though these assets will need to be reworked. I'm going to use Metahuman, but with custom sculpted faces that I'll make in Zbrush. This is because a) the off-the-shelf Metahumans suck, and b) I spent hours and hours over the last ten years practising character sculpting and I don't want to waste that work by using stock Metahumans, or scanned heads. I'll put a couple of screenshots of the characters that I made. These are Metahumans made with the Mesh to Metahuman tool in UE5. Forgive the not-so-great rendering, I made these toward the end of my masters when I was under a lot of pressure to finish them on time! I'm happy with the quality of the faces but the clothes in particular will need some love to bring them up to the same standard.