Home Career & Education

3D Art Test Red Flag? Help

Raiton
polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Raiton polycounter lvl 5

Hi, I am very new to the gaming industry with only one year of experience.

I was asked to take a 48-hour test, not paid, AND they said that they would publish it on their site and use it for a magazine.

Also, the test is kind of a reach from what I showed in my portfolio (there was not much info on their site on what they did), and they didn't provide me with any concept, and what they asked is really not well defined so I would have to put into extra work just to understand what I should make.

Am I reading too much in this or should I stand up for myself? As I'm feeling like they're trying to take advantage of me.

EDIT: I just noticed that the person contacting me is working for them as a Graduate 3D Generalist (which is the position I am applying for), shouldn't it be someone at a higher rank contacting me and asking for a test? Is he going to evaluate it?

Replies

• zetheros
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    zetheros interpolator
    An art test is exactly that; to test if you're a good fit for the position; if your skills meet the requirements of the position, and if you can communicate and problem solve well. If they intend on publishing the results of the art test (particularly if they'll be making money off of it directly or indirectly), that would be a paid job, and should talk to you about it beforehand. IMO they should pay you.
  • Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    48 hours is six working days. Not unusual for an art test. 

Unpaid, there are arguments for and against. 

Publishing the results of the test is extremely unusual. I would not agree to this, no
    matter how eager I was to work for them. 

Showing it on their site is a marketing win for them, and magazine too… these uses should be a paid project, and would generally not be contracted with an inexperienced artist either.