Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Dark Souls inspired environment | Feedback needed

Hey there,

I recently put together an environment and tossed it up on ArtStation, hoping to get some feedback to help me figure out what needs tweaking. Unfortunately, it hasn't really gotten much traction there. I read that Polycount is a better place for feedback, so here I am.

I'd be happy to hear any thoughts or critiques you guys might have. Thanks a lot, in advance!

And, if I've ended up in the wrong corner of this site, my bad - I'm still finding my way around.

In case the link is not working here are some pictures. (There is also a video in the above link. Not sure how to upload videos on here)

Replies

• coolguyslims
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    coolguyslims polycounter lvl 2
    I'm still a student so take my advice with a grain of salt.

With all the fires that are roaring in that room, shouldn't it be bright instead of dark in there? It's very hard to see and the lighting makes the fires seem more like arbitrary graphics instead of selling the room as a real place. I think the floating embers are too large and could be a bit more subtle. I also find for presentation purposes that you don't need to show off PBR views for your environments. In my experience it's rare to see people showing it off and only makes the work look amateurish.

I do think the layout of the room is really cool and I like the branches reaching into the scene from the outside, as well as the branches / roots inside the firepit.
  • RedOne2
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I see I will try to make the embers smaller and see how they look. The lighting sadly I don't really know what to do about it. It looks fine on my ips monitor but now that I've seen the pictures on my phone's amoled display it really does look too dark. It's seems to depend highly on the display you are seeing the pictures from. Honestly no idea how to fix that besides just buying an oled monitor lol.