Home Career & Education

Growing & educating myself as a technical artist. Can you help me?

Hello Polycount people!

I'm looking for good places where I could develop and grow my technical art skills.

As a brief backstory, I am new to this role, around a year since I've professionally taken a tech artist role. I've been an environment artist for the past 6 years working mainly in the gaming industry. I have a background in programming - I always thought I'd become a programmer since it's very natural to me, however at one point I went with environment art because I was lacking the pleasure of working on visual stuff.

However, around 2 years ago while I was working for a video game company, people around the office realized I had a lot more technical skills than the usual 3D Artist, and so they asked me how I'd feel if I would transition into Tech Art (of which I did not know anything about, but upon hearing how it basically is a middle-ground between an artist & a programmer, I fell in love with the idea of it). Now I'm working for a different company, and I've been brought here specifically as a Technical Artist.

Everything's good so far, don't get me wrong. However, I'm very much a self-learning person, and I'd like to extend my knowledge on this expertise far more than I can within the office hours. The problem is that educational content on this expertise is very scarce and broad, at least when you compare it with learning modeling or anything art-exclusive discipline.

I want to reach out to you for help on this mission. I'm still very new to this role, as I mentioned, and I'd like to learn more about all the possibilities within this discipline, and get myself an idea about what exactly I'd like to specialize in.
I'm looking for anything paid courses, personal mentoring, basically whatever I can get my hands on and invest time, effort, and money for it.

I would greatly appreciate any kind of help and/or guide on this. Thank you very much :)

Replies