Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Is my portfolio enough to get into the industry? (Character Artist)

YYEEAAAHHH
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
YYEEAAAHHH polycounter lvl 4
For context, I graduated in 2017 with a game design degree that didn't teach me how to do anything past basic Maya modeling.  I built characters out of an interest and applied to so many places with the only common theme being rejection.  I moved to LA and underwent a mentorship and scrubbed my portfolio and made 3 pieces within that time. 

I know my work isn't exactly AAA, but would this be enough to get into the industry along with basically no work experience?  Or is there any big pieces standing out I should fix in order to stand out?  My biggest goal is to just get my foot in the door and get experience asap.

Replies

• ThisisVictoriaZ
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ThisisVictoriaZ polycounter
    Hi! If you want to know if your work is "enough" its important to find other artists who are also at a junior level who have gotten their first industry jobs, and compare your portfolio to theirs. It can be hard sometimes to know if you're reaching the quality level you need to get your foot in the door, but this is the most common thing I've seen suggested to juniors, and have done myself. This thread on here is good but not super up to date  https://polycount.com/discussion/187512/recently-hired-in-aaa-show-us-your-portfolio but there's plenty of junior artists portfolios on art station as well. 
    Overall I think your materials could use some work, your characters look like their made of plastic (with the exception of the top model which I think looks much better.) Also for the League of Legends one, why not do their hand painted texturing style? 
  • hwaminjung
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    hwaminjung polycounter lvl 2