Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Self-taught myself for a year in 3D modeling, looking for feedbacks on my works!

Hey guys, it's an honor to be with you fellow artists!
I would really like feedback on my portfolio: https://nads_art.artstation.com/. I kinda cramped up this whole year learning everything to make a full AAA character and I'm wondering if my portfolio can get me a mentor or a job? Maybe as a junior artist but I don't put too much expectation, I still need to learn more.
Thank you in advance!

Replies

• Alex_J
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
    All the 3d characters are pretty good.

Main weakness that jumps out to me is material definition and I guess what you might call "secondary forms."

Materials all feel like plastic across most of the characters. I'd aim for a stronger distinction between cloth, skin, metal, leathers, etc. A good piece of advice I once read here is that you should be able to imagine what a material feels like in your fingers when viewing it on the screen.

By secondary forms what I mean is some of the fabrics feel like they are missing a lot of folds that they ought to have. I don't see marvelous designer listed in the credits - if you pursue characters like this it may be wortwhile to work with MD for your next project. It will make it much easier to complex, realistic clothing in less time compared to sculpt in zbrush.

Even though it's not technically game art, I think Arishok is the highest quality looking 3d piece. I am assuming you are interested in game characters since that is what the concepts comes from.

Great work so far, I'm sure if you get some more feedback from some of the pros here and put it into action you'll have some AAA characters in no time.

• Nurul_Nadthira
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J said: