Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: rioosart

Offline / Send Message
Pinned

I'm extremely new in this field (really started learning 3D in February 2023) but I'm having the best time learning new things so I'm making this sketchbook topic to record my progress and to journal thoughts about what I'm studying at the moment. Feel free to post comments and feedback on things. :)

Replies

• rioosart
    Options
    Offline / Send Message

After the donut tutorial and a few tutorials I actually never finished because I felt I didn't understand enough I finally started an online course and the first project was to create a viking shield. It sounded simple enough so the blocking stage was nice and I ended up with something like this for our first exercise.

I loved to practice basic shapes and I feel like I need to do a lot more now that I'm comfortable with the softwares and with the theory. I struggle a lot to get things on a more basic level. Even when I'm sure about the basic forms my mind keeps focusing on the details and I end up skipping a few steps and then I have to redo a few things to make it work.

Anyways, after that we added more subdivisions.

After that I entered my personal nightmare: UVs. I unwrapped them very nicely (or so I thought) and everything was going very smoothly until I imported everything to Substance Painter and things started going downhill!! But as frustrating as it was, I learned a lot.

The wood planks were a real nightmare. It's a little bent where plank meets plank so they had us cutting seams on top and on the sides of the plank and using the "Project from View" option. To me it was rather messy and it ended up like this: