Home Technical Talk

Please help me finally getting my feet wet with Subdivision Surface Modeling!

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Crimzan polycounter lvl 9

Hello everyone!

Man, Subdivision Surface Modeling is something I've been trying to learn for many years now. But I seem to learn in a very different fashion than many people. I can't really learn well with "just trying around", I need a structured approach with heavy focus on the fundamentals. I am just a Hobbyist and don't have too much time on my hand, so when I'm in the mood to practice more modeling, I'm finding myself just using methods that give me good results quickly (like Boolean + Remesh, Hard Edge Chamfering / Beveling and then yeeting a Subdivision Surface modifier on top of it). I mainly do hard Surface things so it always kind of worked. Kind of.