Home Technical Talk

Soft for texturing ZBrush model with low minimum requirements

Hey! I'm new to 3d and can't seem to find solution to my problem. I have a model of avatar fully made in Zbrush. high and low poly with uv maps. Was planning on importing model further to Substance Painter and texturing it there as I need to paint a specific pattern right on the skin of avatar. Then realised my laptop can't handle the program and looked through alternatives. Watched a ton of tutorials, but some software requires udim maps, which cannot be made in zbrrush, other work strange with imported geometry.

Maybe someone has a suggestion on what software should I use for nice and understandable texturing? If you could also explain the process, I would be grateful

Replies

• pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter

You first need to mention what is your main 3d software for regular scene handling/polygon modeling. Most of them have texturing tools built-in.

• Fabi_G
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    Fabi_G insane polycounter

You could use Blender to bake your texture maps and to paint textures. Would be also a good program to optimize your UVs in, if necessary. Alternatively, you could bake texture maps in XNormal.

It might be good to include your system specs (what is "low minimum requirements"?).

• MSVertigo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message

Software that i use for modeling is ZBrush, in which I already modelled this character. I know zbrush has its texturing tool, but according to my diploma, i was told to use substance painter, but my laptop has 11 GB RAM. Substance Painter minimum requirements RAM: 16GB. What other software i can use for texturing my model? May be exists good practive for create texturing for models from ZBrush?

• MSVertigo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message

My requirements of PC:

RAM: 11 GB

CPU: Intel Core i7

GPU: NVIDIA GeForce MX250

Thank you for answer!

• pior
    Options