Home Career & Education

how available are remote positions for environment artist

hassansheded
polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
hassansheded polycounter lvl 7

i am learning environment art and trying to get a good portfolio but i am based in Egypt where we don't have that many studios, so can i get an entry level remote position as an environment artist ? assuming i have a good portfolio of course

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message

Unfortunately it's still fairly unlikely.

There's a lot to learn for an entry level game developer, and this is best absorbed in person, working within a tight knit team.

There are exceptions, but they are rare. It is still difficult to train new hires in a totally remote setup, unless the company has a strong remote culture already.

• Taylor Brown
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Taylor Brown ngon master

For an alternate take, I've been working professionally for over 3 years across a few studios and have only ever worked remote.

I recommend outsource studios as a way to get a start in the industry, especially if your country doesn't have much of an industry of its own.

• PixelMasher
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PixelMasher veteran polycounter

I have been working fully remote for the last 3 years so I'll try and share my experience and what I have seen in the industry job offeres that hit me up recently: