Home Technical Talk

Beginner's terminology misconception

BTA
BTA

Hi all, I am a beginner in 3D modeling. I have trouble with the terminology. The term "geometry" appears very often in various videos/articles/documentation, but nowhere is it clearly stated what they mean by it. I've looked up the definition in various software glossaries, just browsed the Internet, looked in various dictionaries, but haven't found a satisfyingly clear answer. It seems to be something obvious to everyone.

For example, Maya refers to geometry: NURBS surface, NURBS curve, subdivision surface, or polygonal surface (mesh), dictionaries suggest translation as configuration, shape or form, spatial attributes. In Blender and Zbrush there is no definition, but they have geometry nodes/geometry. Adobe Start 3D series says that "geometry" is just a part of the 3d model besides lights, shaders and etc. Wikipedia says about Wavefront .obj file format that it just stores "geometry", and then it lists it. Polycount's glossary also has the definition. But each source defines the term differently.

As I understand it, 3d modeling is geometric modeling, that is, we use geometric objects to build a shape. So why aren't all these curves and vertices and stuff just called geometric objects? I haven't found a translation option for "geometry" as geometric objects or primitives. As if it means something else.

From my own paragraph above, I've already made some assumptions for myself. But it is nothing more than "kind of". What if I'm missing something? I think I just can't translate it into my native language to make it sound understandable.

English is my second language, in my native language "geometry" is various branches of the mathematical sciences.Perhaps it's just jargon/abbreviation or the term has a broader meaning in English. 

Please help me understand, thanks in advance for your help.

Replies

• Alex_J
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter