Home General Discussion

changin careers

Ruz
polycount lvl 666
Offline / Send Message
Ruz polycount lvl 666

made you look - I seem to have transmogrified in to an environment artist these days :)

i started off an an enviroment guy back in 2002 and now have come full circle. quite enjoy, though

I still pimp myself as a 3d generalist - I just got sick of all those 'meta humans' - no fun any more,

doing environments can be quite creative and fun

Lot to learn still :)

Replies

• Joao Sapiro
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joao Sapiro sublime tool

pls make nakatomi plaza with all its floors and layout !!! including broken glass and bloodstain feet marks !

• Neox
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    Neox godlike master sticky

man yeah, you know what polycount expects to see from you now :)

• rollin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    rollin polycounter

Yea bit of flexibility is healthy I guess.

I'm still pretending I'm a technical artist and nobody noticed yet .. 🤫

• Ruz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ruz polycount lvl 666

@Joao Sapiro - then I will have to finish off my Bruce Willis model and that will take at least another 30 years :)

@Neox - I should n't really post after getting drunk on red wine

@rollin - yeah i feel I am a bit of a pretend Env artist, but I do quite enjoy some aspects of it.I just dosn't know all the ins and outs

just yet, but pretty much have covered trim sheets and lightmapping in Unity ( which can be a pain)

I am currently using the xnormal plugin in pshop , but should really give substance a try also

I am really more interested in VR these days

• sacboi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sacboi high dynamic range

Nice, also don't forget to drop a few tips here-n-there...

cos I wanna cross over too & will need a bit of handhold'n with this stuff :D

• Ashervisalis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ashervisalis grand marshal polycounter