Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

How do you know? (also critique pls)

node

Hi, a new member here! ^_^

As a self-taught 3D artist, how do you know you're good enough to start looking for work either freelance or as a junior in the industry?

It's a question that's been bothering me for a while, so I would hugely appreciate any pointers in that direction, and some practical advice on how to improve. After all, there's a big difference between what a beginner like me thinks is alright and what a seasoned professional would find acceptable 😅

Here are some of my works, all constructive criticism is more than welcome!!

Replies

• kanga
    Offline / Send Message
    kanga quad damage

People respond best to images inserted in the post and don't normally follow links.

• OhWhy_art

Thank you for you comment, @kanga!

I'm new to forums in general, so I thought if I pressed 'upload image' everything would magically work out 😁 Actually, I have no idea how to insert images properly - tried copy/pasting and couldn't save the post, because the body was too long, although I'm pretty sure I've seen longer posts here. Is there some trick I can use?

I have an Artstation profile if that's any better: https://www.artstation.com/ohwhy_art/albums/4876060

Still a link though...

Cheers

• hwaminjung
    Offline / Send Message
    hwaminjung polycounter lvl 2

Hello there!

I had a look through your Artstation. I think the main thing you can work on is textures, and creating simpler, high quality models.

Do you bake high poly sculpts to a lower poly mesh? That let you keep a lot of high quality detail while remaining very "efficient". A program like Zbrush could be useful, but you maybe able to get away with simply subdividing a mesh, depending on the object.