Home Career & Education

Environment Art and Showcasing

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Mr_Nova polycounter lvl 4
Hey everyone, 

I've made a few posts on here before with my own asset creations. I recently started branching out and expanding my skills by going from just asset creation to also applying those skills and creating whole environments based off a concept art. I'm hoping this path will actually make me more employable in the future the more I practice those skills. I'm very new to this process and I'm following along with a tutorial (while making my own environment so that way I actually "Learn" what I'm doing) to make this part of my skill set. 

Sorry if this has been asked before, but in short: What is the preferred method when showcasing your work for being an 3D Environment Artist? 

I'm learning right now how to create modular sets to build a scene, blocking out, lighting, etc. in Unreal Engine 5 which i'm using to showcase all my work. I'm under the impression employers want to see that I can actually create my own modular sets and build an Environment made from assets *I* made. I'm sure you could get away with some megascans if its not really the main focus of the showcase? I could be wrong about that though. 

I'm interested to hear thoughts on this with Indie vs AAA and how all this works.

Hope that makes sense, sorry for the long post and thank you for reading in advance.

Replies

• Benjammin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Benjammin greentooth
    Mr_Nova said: 
     I'm under the impression employers want to see that I can actually create my own modular sets and build an Environment made from assets *I* made. I'm sure you could get away with some megascans if its not really the main focus of the showcase? I could be wrong about that though.