Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Feeling stuck as an aspiring sculptor. I need thorough advice. I'd really appreciate help. (Anatomy)

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Quxera polycounter lvl 4
Hello friends. I am an aspiring sculptor with no art background whose aim is to make realistic busts. I have been sculpting as a hobby for 3 years now. I have been taking it seriously for the last year (3-4 hours of sculpting nearly every day) and now I am feeling extremely stuck to a point where I am just considering quitting. I feel like I am missing something fundamental about sculpting. Unfortunately, I can't take mentorships because I can't afford them. damn inflation :)

The images below aren't necessarily the best I can do but they represent the average sculpts.

I use references. Both real photos and interpretations such as planes of the face and alike.
I have used scans to copy 1:1 before and they help quite a lot. But I don't want to be relying on scans to produce good results.

ps: If anyone is willing to jump on discord, and give advice with screen sharing on I would not say no to that. Message me if you are willing to do that.

Also besides giving a really specific critique, I am also looking for general advice regarding sculpting. What am I missing? What can you tell from the sculpts below?

Anyways, I'd really appreciate help at this point... 

edit: I have just realized I have never mentioned anatomy... This post is mostly about anatomy.. 

Replies

• kanga
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    kanga quad damage
    I can't tell from your post, but have you been doing male heads for 3 years? If so that would drive me nuts as well. I am the reverse of you in that. For me its insanely fun to take a character from a sketch all the way through to a game engine and having it respond to controller commands and move in an environment suited to it.