Home Career & Education

Help writing my summary and biography?

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Oblivion2500 polycounter lvl 6
I'm updating my resume and summary page from feedback. I'm not very good at talking about what I did or what I do. I'm usually very awkward about saying good things about myself. I got feedback that I should mention more about what I did in school studying 3D digital design. Etc. I really am stuck on this. I could use some help with this. Just short and professional. The same goes for LinkedIn summary/about me page. I'm out of words on how to get help on this. It seems so easy but not for me. 

Replies

• Taylor Brown
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Taylor Brown ngon master
    There's heaps of info around on the best approach to writing stuff like this. I think for our field, it's not as essential though. 9 times out of 10, it's the same word jumble of "passion, work ethic, dedicated" blah blah. And that's not knocking anyone, mine sounds similar. It's really just a bunch of buzzword shlock that HR people like to see. Personally speaking, when I am reviewing an applicant.. I never even look at the resume. Portfolio is all that matters to me and others within management at the company I am with. I wouldn't overthink it, basically.
  • Larry
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Larry interpolator
    Nobody says it's easy, pal. The problem with schools is that they don't have a lesson for this, but it is an important skill to have. But you learn with experience. I've sent emails with wrong names to companies I liked and did all kinds of stupid things. What I can vaguely say is that you should spend time checking everything about each company individually and write a cover letter of what you think about them. Do not follow google's articles because the HR gets thousand emails, all following that same pattern. I mean yea, it's good to know what to write, but you have to find your own style on this.