Home Technical Talk

How to interpret and make sense of hard to read Concept Art?

Hello!

I've been attempting to model a lasgun from the Dune series for the past couple of days, however to no avail. I am relatively new to modelling and I have never been too interested in modelling guns up until now, however the Concept Art for this particular one attracted my attention. I must've restarted the entire process for 20 times by now, but alas, I feel like I am running around in circles. 

This is the Concept Art (credit to Wojtek Kolacinski on Artstation). 

This is what I've managed to get so far, most of which is either incorrect or too low fidelity with respect to the Concept Art.

I have absolutely no clue as to how I'm supposed to connect these disjointed pieces together. Also struggling to model the individual parts properly as all of them have some strange rotations that make editing impossible once they are in place.

One of the pieces that confused me most was the following:

I have started the right side with a simple plane whereas for the left side I've used a box instanced and rotated into place so that I can edit it in the XY space. To connect the two I've bridged the edgeloops.

However, how in order to close the model up and not have visible backfaces, I ultimately had to extrude the rims towards the center of the mirror, which feels like a bit of a cheap trick, especially since I don't think that's what's happening in the CA. 

All this said, I do realize that I've probably bitten way more than I can currently chew with this model, so I'm not looking for ways to model this specific asset, I'm just curious to hear how experienced users deal with insufficient information from the Concept Art. Especially in cases where one only has one perspective of the asset. Also some tips for modelling stuff that is not aligned to the axis is more than welcome (stuff like the handle in this case for example.)

Thank you!

Replies

• Ghogiel
    Options