Home 2D Art Showcase & Critiques

In need of some honest critique

Constantini
triangle
Offline / Send Message
Constantini triangle
I've been trying to break into the industry as a concept artist since I graduated 5 years ago; to date, I haven't received a single reply with over 600 applications and am therefore in need of some down to earth critique.

https://www.artstation.com/c0nstantini

It's been so long since Ive been at this that I'm very unsure if I can actually cut it or if maybe I lack the talent required for this career path. Any advice is appreciated, and I thank you in advance for taking a look at my portfolio!

Replies

• BagelHero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BagelHero interpolator
    Honestly, that seems weird. My eye isn't great for concept art stuff that isn't character/prop work, but your work looks... pretty solid?

You do have a large number of pieces... Might need to trim the fat?

•   The raqay - lab piece has a lot of high-frequency elements and it makes it hard for my eye to rest... even though there is some appeal here, it just doesn't feel quite up to scratch?

•  Summit - Hatun Urqu is really striking, and grabs my attention, though there's sorta a tangent between the contour of the leftmost mountain and the geometric structures-- it would be nice to have them breaking that silhouette a bit more so they feel a bit more like they exist in real space and protrude around the curve of the mountain. The pre-production work is excellent, here, and shows the idea well.

• The I-no piece feels out of place. I don't think it works here, really. Ancient Egypt Art Test feels a bit out of place too. Maculata seems rough, and it's old. Maybe cut that one.

• The sense of scale and depth in Rare Specimen is kinda lacking. I feel it's weaker, but it could be a matter of taste.