Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Nike Tech Trainer

ShinKaiser
polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
ShinKaiser polycounter lvl 5
Hey guys, I'm kinda new to this forum, but thought I'd join as I'd like to up my modelling skills. First, a bit of background on my situation to help you see where I'm coming from: I work as a freelance motion designer, yet I love to model in my spare time. Often my work calls for it but not predominantly. I can use Cinema 4D very well and am comfortable modelling anything low poly with it. High Poly I haven't really tried to be honest.
Recently I realised that Maya holds a lot of weight in the professional studios so for the last 3 months I have been using Maya exclusively to model. If anyone's interested I'll report my findings on Maya as a C4D user. Not only am I learning Maya but also good practises to modelling that I didn't take into consideration at first. I decided to model a concept illustration by the artist Dmitry Stukov:

This image struck the right balance of being visual appealing to me while presenting a modelling challenge.  While I love modelling I also intend to place it in an animation of some kind (I am a motion designer after all), After texturing it up with Substance Painter. But first things first, I set about modelling the base mesh.

I was going to post the above pics ages ago but I wasn't sure when I would have anything more to show. Well ~a month and a half later, I finally made some progress. By this time I had become a lot more comfortable modelling with Maya. I started by modelling the Sole and front of the shoe exactly as I saw in the reference pic. By the time I got to the back and sides, I felt I could add my own interpretation. Especially at the back which I made curve out a bit more.