Home Career & Education

When and why does a company look out for junior artists instead of seniors?

kalosy
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
kalosy polycounter lvl 3
Hi! I've been a character artist for more than 2 years but with some additional notes that kind of paint a better picture of my situation.

I initially studied at a university with game art program but eventually dropped out after my first year, seeing that the quality of the education was not very applicable for the game industry (messed up modules of what should be solely about character art rather than mixing it with concept art, while at the same time having another module only about concept art, unexperienced lecturers or out of touch and a vague opportunity for networking). What followed after was a year of cleaning up my mind from the bad habits I acquired there and deleting everything from my artstation starting with simple projects. Eventually, I've managed to get a pretty solid understanding of the 3D character workflow and builded up a reasonable portfolio for an entry, junior level. I've also met a couple of professionals face to face and managed to make good impressions and keeping in touch sometimes. Of course, given the time of only a year, I'm not saying I expect miracles instantly and to finally land a gig. 

That being said, I've also like every artist stumbled upon rejections here and there, failed art tests (and successful ones but due to covid I pulled a big misfortune out of the situation), but since my only perception for the game industry is shaped by word to mouth and forums, I'm ignorant as it comes to when companies are in need for a junior. My hypothesis is that a junior is someone who has a solid grasp of fundamentals and can do a model from start to finish with pleasant results, but hasn't been exposed to a certain company's workflow and for that, it's easier to teach him your specific method, so that the quality of your work is perfectly fitting.