Home Career & Education

How did you pick your specialization in the 3D pipeline?

Apologies for the wall of text but I am having a bit of a career-planning crisis right now.

Hello, a little bit about me, I am fairly new to the 3D animation, and art in general. I am currently going to a state university for a Multi-Media Production major with a focus in 3D animation, cinema, and sound design. It basically teaches how to use programs like Photoshop, After Effects, Premiere Pro, Maya, etc., and covers things like design principles, storytelling through storyboarding, conveying messages clearly, all that jazz. With my focus, I'm hoping to move to LA eventually (have lived in Seattle my whole life) and break into the film industry, preferably animated feature films.

So, that's a little bit about me and what I am currently studying. I know I want to work on animated films, but I guess I don't know what my final specialization should be. I already have experience in Maya through my school email (not through my degree yet), and have been learning animation. So far, I've done bouncing balls, walk cycles, and basic posing, and am still self-teaching. Animation is super cool to me, especially character animation, but I find it difficult. I have always been a visual learner, and while I love drawing characters and looking at other people's models, I love seeing things move across the screen, come to life, and tell a story.