Home Technical Talk

Graphics noob question about making a game with a retro aesthetic

Hello friends,

I'm working on a game and I have very little technical knowledge about the 3d modeling/texturing part of games and was hoping one of you might be able to point me in the right direction. I would love my game to have a mid to late 90's PC era look. The graphics look I'm particularly nostalgic for is seen in games like Thief 1 or the original Everquest. Primitive and low res to a degree but not as warped and buggy looking as something like Playstation 1 graphics. I recently played the demo of a game called Hellhunt on itch.io and it looked great and was close to that graphics style.

I'm wondering where to start on making my game look like this. Let's say I used more modern mixamo like models with higher polys could I just downgrade textures and put them on newer models and get some of the effect or would that look terrible? I've seen post processing effects in Unity that will pixelize your game but that seems like it's just changing the resolution. Is there some kind of post processing that would allow you to take a game with modern models/textures and turn it into that 90's blurred texture look? If I just wanted to start with retro textures what would be a good approach? Any insight would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

I've attached an example below:

Replies

• poopipe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    poopipe grand marshal polycounter
    You can pixelate with a post process shader pretty easily in ue4/unity  but a lot of the look of ps1 games is in texture filtering (or lack of) and in the mesh compression(that's what causes the wobbling). This stuff is relatively easy to implement but you will need to dick around with vertex and pixel shaders to make it work. 

I've seen a few videos on YouTube that explain how ps1 graphics work so might be worth you having a bit of a search for that sort of thing.  
  • pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message