Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Urban Alley

Hello guys,

I'm a Junior Environment Artist and trying to improve my self.

I started to create an Environment based on the Quixel tutorial by Jack McKelvie. I am trying to get as much as possible from his tutorial and get his key elements and create a new environment based and inspired on his environment. I want to use every method that he used.

Here, You can see the awesome environment from Jack McKelvie:
 https://www.artstation.com/artwork/DxWNey

Right now I blocked out my environment and did a little composition and lighting on it to get feel from it even in the early stage that it is.

I want to lead the viewers' eyes from points 1 and 2 to point 3.

I'll be so grateful to get feedback from such great artists like you and learn from your critiques.

Thanks for watching it.
I hope you enjoy it.

Replies

• birb
    Offline / Send Message
    birb interpolator
    Welcome! What style are you aiming for?

Elements like the arch and windows are very wide when compared to the reference and the scale of other elements in the image, making it look a bit toonish. The scale itself seems off due the apparent floor height used. Sticking to a 3m / 10 ft base makes it hard to go wrong.

I'd also advise against using a rule of thirds in this case. It fights the very concept of alleyway because you need to spread elements in the image to use it while alleyways tend to be narrow by definition. It's also keeping you so focused on the elements on the grid that you overlooked this garbage bag sitting right in the middle of the picture in the place a player character would be, making it an accidental protagonist, plus the door 1 is in the same depth of the arch, so it's not leading the eye to it, it's flattening the image.