Home Career & Education

Hi I am new! Where to start?

Hi all! I am new to Polycount and 3d art in general.

I am 18 years old and I have been gaming a long part of my life already and I love game development for a few years already. I got programming school but I'd rather learn the artist side of the game development. I recently started of with Maya and I was hoping that some of you can give me some tips on how to start and learn. I am folowing a course on pluralsight and on another website. Do you guys have other tips for me on how to learn it?

I would like to learn a lot about the making of 3d objects for environments. So modeling, sculpting and texturing, things like that.

Software that I own right now:
Maya
Mudbox
Substance painter
I am using student licensing for the softwares.

Replies

• Ashervisalis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ashervisalis grand marshal polycounter
    Yo yo yo, welcome to game art!!! It'll provide you with feelings of fulfillment and frustration at the same time. Your skill level will benefit from the amount of time you invest, so if you want to become really good, be prepared to invest a lot of time!

On top of those programs you're using, I would download UE4, which is a free game engine. You can throw whatever you make into UE4 and run around the worlds you've created! I've not used Mudbox, but the majority of professionals use ZBrush for sculpting (though there is no student license like Autodesk Mudbox). Speaking of professionalism: Do you want to be a professional game artist at a studio, or do you want to just work on your own stuff? If you're wanting to be professional, people usually branch off into either character art or environment art. You can do both, but it'll be really hard to become good enough in order to land a job. Speaking of which, don't spread yourself too thin! Make sure to learn;

Sub-D modeling + Sculpting (spend some time in these disciplines to get really good at them)