Home Technical Talk

I want to consult about the 3d modeling software for low poly which I'm making.

I want to consult about the 3d modeling software for low poly which I making.

Purpose of the software is that a person who does not know 3d modeling can make 3d model of quality from sfc level to N64 level in short time .

The ultimate goal is to make a 3D model of the human body in an hour. For example, shiek and saria in the legend of zelda : ocarina of time.

The method is that some kind of Block is put and is scaled and is cut.

I used this method and made apple.  The models in the upper left are some types of blocks.

Is this the right way to achieve the goal?

I am a beginner in polycount. Sorry if unfriendly.

Replies

• Obscura
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Obscura grand marshal polycounter
    Check out "crocotile 3d". Its a good reference for basic modeling features, and provides the style you want.
  • mokuzu555
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Obscura said:
    Check out "crocotile 3d". Its a good reference for basic modeling features, and provides the style you want.

Thank you. I used crocotile 3d in the past. Unfortunately, This is hard to use for me.
  • Obscura
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Obscura grand marshal polycounter
    The only easier way I can imagine is kinda like a minecraft style. Crocotile has a bunch of tutorials on youtube, and believe me, this is still way easier than an actual modeling software. So I guess you need to set a border somewhere. Functionality will come with some price.

Most of the shapes can't be made just by using primitives. You set a whole lot of limitations this way, especially if you don't have booleans. If you have that, its a somewhat different story, because you would give bigger freedom.

Is SketchUp hard as well?
  • RN
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    RN sublime tool
    mokuzu555 said: