Home Career & Education

I'm an artist who wants to make my own game, what should I do?

Hello!

My question is similar to this post I found after googling and was hoping I could get some advice on a bit of "dillema" I'm in. Any reply would be much appreciated.

So basically, I'm an artist whose dream it is to be able to make my own game one day, and I'm just wondering

Is it possible to learn to program and code in my free time, while attending a 3 year course in creative technologies (game art)??

I already have a diploma in applied animation and digital media, maybe game art degree isn't necessary?? Maybe I should get a programming degree instead? The scary thing is the idea of coding/programming for a living doesn't sound attractive to me as someone who's natural talent is drawing.. BUT I have no experience at all in coding, and my dream is ultimately be able to make my own game one day and put my art in it. Maybe that would all change if I began coding and I would fall in love with it?

Or with strong dedication and hard work could I learn to make my own game in my free time, and try to make a living as what I'm best at?

I know it sounds ridiculous but just really wanted to put on display the circle my brain is running around in. Again any reply is truly appreciated.

Cheers!

Replies

• Vallar
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Vallar polycounter lvl 8
    So you have a few questions in the post and I'll try to address them separately:

Is it possible to learn to program and code in my free time, while attending a 3 year course in creative technologies (game art)??

Yes, you can of course. I studied architecture in school, learned coding while working a 9 to 5 job. So I was in a somewhat similar boat to you. The only thing you need to learn coding is time and patience. That time can be condensed (8 hours a day everyday) or stretched (an hour every day or two or three days or even weekends only).