Home Technical Talk

Is shadows rendering a post process?

polycounter lvl 14
Offline / Send Message
Axcel polycounter lvl 14
I am learning about rendering more and found out that I lack knowledge about two things.
Not sure if shadows are part of postprocess or not and how lighting was computed before ray tracing in rasterization times?

Thanks for any replies or sources.

Replies

• RN
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    RN sublime tool
    I'm not an expert on computer graphics, but from what I understand of the subject:

- Raytracing is still rasterization (as in, you start from numerical data, like polygon meshes, and create a pixel image from that).

- Shadow is the absence of light, so a way to think of shadowed surfaces is also "surfaces with zero light".
    Therefore, if you have a way of knowing if a point on a surface is receiving lighting (be that lighting direct, coming straight from the light source, or indirect, having bounced one or more times from other surfaces), then any of the points receiving little to no light can be considered as shadowed.  
    So raytracing finds where light is present in the scene, and implicitly finds the shadows too since it'll be the places where the light didn't reach.

- Using raytracing is a more accurate way to tell how much light the surface point at each pixel on screen is receiving, because it approximates better how light behaves, thinking of rays.