Home Career & Education

Shape and form Language: Artist Looking to understand

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
ChrisTheArtist polycounter lvl 4
Hello fellow artists and developers,

I am looking to understand shape and form language to help better my art. i am a character artist stilling in art still earning my B.F.A in game art and design and my professor says I have a problem with shape and form language. I studied the topic but I don't quite understand it. if there is anyone of this forum that can help me with this then by all means please do so!

Replies

• Alex_J
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter

here is a great video and lots more like it on that channel ^

• Larry
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Larry interpolator
    Not wanting to brag or something, but I use this all the time when I model complex props.
    Here is one example I have, about modeling with shapes. 
    https://www.artstation.com/artwork/QzkZkZ the tail curve of the scorpion is 1/3 of the rest of the scorpion. The growing splines aroung the box take 1/3 of the box's shape as a total. Speaking roughly of course.

As a general rule I would say try to line stuff with circles, lines, curves or the golden ratio.Also try to form shapes with the negative space.
    https://www.artstation.com/artwork/qARdKL
     here I used negative space from the bone splines to form another "horn like" shape, that adds to the concept. Also the overal shape is roughly a reverse triangle, which shows instability.

Speaking of which, you can read a bit about shape psychology, it helps bring your piece together more nicely.
  • Domslice
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Domslice polycounter lvl 8
    This a fascinating subject! Glad you're asking as it helps me to think it through again myself, y'know shift gears. 

A few initial thoughts, along with hasty draw-overs. Here is the absolute basics, with some familiar examples.