Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Superman Sculpture

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
RamonBelmonte polycounter lvl 2
Hi there!

I want to start a new project to push my skills in 3D Character Modelling. My goal is to create a sculpture of Superman to improve the creation of a male anatomy, and to learn how to sculpt clothes and accessories properly. This is my first time doing a character, I just create some environment assets in Maya. Please, give me any feedback you can to improve!

My plan is to start with a sphere in Zbrush, doing a correct blocking there, and then start with the anatomy proccess. Also, I will use Zbrush to block the accessories and later export them to Maya to make a manual retopology, creating the hard surface pieces. I'm not gonna texture this character, because I want to focus in the sculp process. And if I do it right, I want to cut the model for 3D Print.  :)

This is my PureRef reference board:

Replies

• RamonBelmonte
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    This is the first blocking I did in Zbrush, but after a few hours looking at it, I decided to delete and start again. I think a lot of stuffs are failling in the blocking, like the curvature of the model, the position of the legs, the shoulders, and the head. Also the perspective was to high while I was creating it, so the model looks like if he was a bow. 

So, I started again, and this is the result. What do you think?

• DavidCruz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    DavidCruz interpolator
    I mention nothing about C&C but mention helpful information that may be beneficial to the user.

Nice start so i would suggest getting a lot more anatomy references, i mean i have a lot when i do this stuff or used to and the hardest parts for me to find references for are the interior arm and leg portions, luckily with enough searching you can find them also this link here Should be monumentally helpful to your goal.