Home Technical Talk

Zbrush to 3ds max problems...help!!

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
hi...guys

I'm new to displacment maps and exporting mesh from zbrush to 3ds max for rendering. here is my brad pitt likeness i have sculpted in zbrush. i'm not sure about what i have done. i have UVs in Zbrush wrapping them with UV master, worked on a clone...coped uv freom the clone to my main mesh to make my displacment maps. exported my mesh to 3ds max...applied my displacement to vray skin MT and to my displace modifier. and this happens. need help please through my first portrait :)   

Replies

• Dihemi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Dihemi polycounter lvl 2
    It seems your displacement modifier is using planar mapping instead of an existing UV. Scroll a little down the modifier and mark the "Use Existing Mapping" box. Make sure the correct UV channel is selected.

• MoSaleh
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Dihemi said:
    It seems your displacement modifier is using planar mapping instead of an existing UV. Scroll a little down the modifier and mark the "Use Existing Mapping" box. Make sure the correct UV channel is selected.

i found that i need to use Vraydisplacmentmod modifier if i'm using Vray. the problem that i don't get any changes in the render viewport. i changed the mesh i'm using so it becomes more simple and clear where the problem is. used a sphere in zbrush and subdivisioned it to have a highpoly mesh and used a zbrush alpha then exported displacement and the lowest poly mesh. sdly nothing seems to happen, dont know what i'm missing during this process. (used uv master to make sphere uvs)

lowpoly mesh imported to max (lowest subdivision)

lowpoly mesh imported to max (lowest subdivision) 
    *showing displacement map setting if there is something wrong...scale isset to 5.9 as i used "get scale" in mult map exporter, someone told me it would help but it didn't* 
     highpoly mesh