Home Technical Talk

Benefits of Maya (Modeling)

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
jdellinger98 polycounter lvl 5
Disclaimer: I started out and feel very confident in 3ds max, I want to switch to Maya since a lot of job openings list Maya. Also if there’s a thread similar you can just link that as well.

So, Starting to learn maya; is there any projects you would recommend I work on that will incorporate a lot of Maya’s toolset to model (I’m environment and props mainly) to get familiar with the software. 

Secondly and more importantly; Is there any features of Maya that are really useful that get overlooked by beginners. I’m still learning unqiue tools and ways to model in 3ds max so I’m sure Maya has its secrets that can be overlooked.

Replies

• Alex_J
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
    https://www.udemy.com/course/3dsmax-to-maya/

I've done some other courses by that guy and he's a great teacher ^  

that might be good place to start. 

Only specific thing i can recommend since I don't know max is to learn the marking menus and just play around with them. Make sure you understand how you can "flick" to access submenus quickly. For instance, hold ctrl + flick diagonal up right to "grow" command. 

Little things like this make it so you can work as fast as you can think.

I do also recommend rebinding some hotkeys. Put convert to vertice, face, edge on your one two and three keys. And object/component toggle on ~ key. This allows me to effortless make selections of anything in fast intuitive way.

And the bonus tools are essential part of my workflow. You got "convert n-sided face to quad", "select every n-th edge", "convert edge to curve", and all sorts of quick pivot snap tools you'd want to put on a shelf. If you are sending lots of game assets for export those pivot tools are a big time saver.

• icegodofhungary
    Offline / Send Message
    icegodofhungary interpolator