Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

MK12 SPR

insane polycounter
Offline / Send Message
Amsterdam Hilton Hotel insane polycounter
As a side project I'm making a game-ready Mark 12 Special Purpose Rifle, which is a designated marksman variant of the M16 featuring a floated handguard and shorter barrel. I picked this gun because it has a nice balanced distribution of weight and I really like the large forms spattered with tertiary details. For a change I'm going to document the process I go through in more detail than the usual trickle of images to a sketchbook thread.

Step zero was setting up the project directory and doing research. I've been using this same basic project setup for many years now. Having consistent organizational practices is very helpful. With familiarity your brain will stop having to think about where files are located or what to call them and you spend less time distracted from moving forward. If you're a Max user... Customize > Configure User Paths

Reference images... get more than you need in the highest quality possible. For any given gun I will spend at least an hour (usually 2-3) dredging up pictures on auction sites and forums. This particular gun has an extensive thread on ar15 dot com which I mined for pictures showing various models and angles as well as material finishes.

You gotta watch out for airsoft guns when you dig around, be careful for that. The main things to look out for are the magazine, chamber, bolt, and barrel because all these are different for BBs than cartridges. Airsoft guns are sometimes the only references you can find for certain angles or views but just use a real reference if you possibly can.