Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: Joao Rosa

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
DyingAge polycounter lvl 8
Hello everyone, honestly it has been years since my last post in this website, mainly because due to certain events in my life I had completely given up art in general. However, the past few months I have found again my will to chase my dreams of being able to live and work as a character modeler so I have been trying to catch up like crazy on the new workflows and technologies.

I think I am actually getting up to speed in most of the things now, but of course as in everything in life, we are always learning and things are always evolving, that's what makes it fun I suppose right? :smile:

If anyone reading this has any critiques or advice they would like to give towards my artwork I greatly appreciate it. You may also check out my Artstation and Facebook Page if you'd like, the links are on my signature ;)

So the first couple months I studied through a subscription on Pluralsight, where I learned more about workflows, namely the ZBrush Highpoly sculpt to another 3D application (Maya, Blender, etc) for Retopology and UVs. I spent quite a while playing around in ZBrush and after I overcame the overwhelming UI, I fell in love with it! So I kept practicing and learning from Pixologic Streams and VODs, and after a few months this was my first original character sculpt (not my first sculpt, there were a lot of blobby messes in the beginning of course xD but this was the first time I felt like I was reaping the rewards of my efforts).

The sculpt, polypaint and render were done in ZBrush, the compositing (or how much little there is of it) was done in ClipStudio Paint.

I was really thrilled with my results, true they are not much impressive but they were results! I hope these posts inspire people who see it (if anyone does see it) to work hard towards their goals as well, with effort and time, slowly but surely results will appear :)

Yep...