Home 2D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio Review & Tips

Hello!

I'm an aspiring concept artist and I'm trying to get a job a game/ film studio, but I'm struggling a lot with it.
So, one of my friends recommend me this place to ask for tips.

The thing is, I feel like I'm stuck with my portfolio and I'm missing something to get the job. As you can see I love to paint keyframes and environments and pretty comfortable working on that. So, my big doubt is, should I keep going getting better with my environments, do more callouts with props, getting into characters and show a more generalist portfolio...?

What are your thoughts?
Feel free to give me feedback on any of my pieces, the way to show them on my website, etc

Thank you!

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Nice work!

My opinion, don't have a home page at all, just go direct into the art. 

If you have to have an entry page, then I wish the four images were links to your sections, rather than a static nonclickable image.

If you want work in games, it would help to emphasize the breakdowns you have, where you show a glory image then explain all the elements that go into it, so team members can turn your concepts into 3d assets.
  • Niko_Brush
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Nice work!

My opinion, don't have a home page at all, just go direct into the art. 

If you have to have an entry page, then I wish the four images were links to your sections, rather than a static nonclickable image.

If you want work in games, it would help to emphasize the breakdowns you have, where you show a glory image then explain all the elements that go into it, so team members can turn your concepts into 3d assets.
    Thank you Eric. I have changed what you mentioned about the front page, now each image is linked to its own category.