Home Career & Education

Environment Art Self-Study Curriculum

Beton_Brut
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Beton_Brut polycounter lvl 4

Hey, all, I’m fairly new to 3D and trying to learn how to become a professional environment artist from home. I’d like some feedback on whether you think I’ve made a viable plan of attack of tutorials to get a working knowledge of the various programs needed for the field. If I'm missing anything, or you feel there are better resources, please let me know. Looking at what I've compiled, it feels a bit daunting, so I hope I haven't overloaded myself. My objective is to be fluent in the PBR workflow, and the programs I plan to use are Maya, ZBrush, Substance Painter and Designer, and Unreal Engine 4. I’m already familiar with the basics of modeling and sculpting in Maya and ZBrush, but there is a lot of room for improvement.

I posted recently asking for people’s experience with Game Art Institute’s environment art bootcamp, and I appreciate all of the insight people gave. Whether or not I decide to enroll, I’ll still spend the next few months trying to get a base level understanding of the full process of environment art. Thanks to all of you who suggested tutorials and process pipeline.

I’ve broken the curriculum down into two phases, beginning and intermediate. The plan is to go through the beginning phase of each step of the pipeline for the next few months, and then the intermediate.

BEGINNER PHASE 

Blockout/Design

• 3D Motive (Stylized Dungeon Scene)
  • Suggestions welcome

Lighting/Mood Dev

• Basic Lighting in UE4 (no tutorial needed)

Low Poly Modeling

• 3D Motive (Stylized Dungeon, Modeling Spaceship, and Tank)
  • Pluralsight, Justin Marshall, Truck Modeling Vol 2

High Poly Modeling

• 3D Motive (Intro to HP, spaceship, and tank),
  • Pluralsight, Justin Marshall, Automotive modeling)

UVs