Home Animation Showcase & Critiques

Game Animation Feedback. Help me pls! :)

lucasmz
null
Offline / Send Message
lucasmz null
Hi guys! It's my first time animating for a game and I would be really happy if you guys give me some feedback.

PS: The "play instrument" animation activate a radar around the player and it's pretty normal. If you have some idea to improve this, I'd be very grateful :) 

https://syncsketch.com/sketch/2d61179f2732/

Replies

• tholmes3d
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    tholmes3d polycounter lvl 11
    Dash: Quick motions are hard because you have to use every single frame in a very smart way. Right now you have quite a few frames that are almost the same as the last, and then the next frame will be a huge change. Use every frame 100%. To me this mean choosing what you want the player to focus on/see. You may want to stick a limb out and hold it in place while the rest of the body flips very quickly so that the player has a visual anchor to keep track of. I would look up reference from games with really quick movement like DMC or something. Actually most any video game will have a pretty quick dodge/dash. I best most of the will have in common that they strike a pose and hold is to make sure it's very clear. if they do a flip, I bet they do the action quickly and then strike a settling pose so that you can regain focus on the character.
    https://youtu.be/Mc_DLBI7oL4?t=51
    Here you can see that there are extremely clear poses. Also, if this is for gameplay, show us the animation from the players perspective.